January 4, 2013

  • Sleepless in Seattle

    GYC stands for Generation of Youth for Christ. It's a conference where SDA youth from all over the world get together to worship, grow and learn more about God. Many of my older friends have been to multiple GYC's but this was my first. This year it was in Seattle. 

    First off, I'd like to say that Seattle is a beautiful place. I really loved their public transit system (Link Light Rail) and how everything is so green. They recycle a lot more than Vegas too! I guess the only crappy thing about Seattle was that everything closed so early! In Vegas nothing closes so I guess we're all spoiled down here. Seriously though, when things start to close at 8 Vegas people will start to trip out! haha

    Anyways, we stayed there for five days and six nights, and all I can say is that is was a really great experience. I got to see a lot of familiar friends and meet a lot of new ones too. I'll just mention a few here, but I met so many people there it'd be hard to talk about them all.

    The people I probably grew closest with while on the trip were, ironically, Lea's friends-- Candice, Evet, Stevey, Tia and Ainsley. At first I felt really awkward around them, but eventually, I really came to like them a lot. They all truly love God, and they're all so young! It's really crazy but inspiring. I guess the best part about the trip, other than the great lectures and prayer, was seeing all these young people so apt to Christ. When I was 18, I was still wishy washy about God and church and anything that had to do with it. But these kids seem so much resolute than I was at that age. I've said this before to certain youth, but I'll say it again, young people like them really inspire me. Seeing kids pray, worship and studying the Word of God so intensely at such and early age really inspires me in a way nothing else can. I know I'm not old, I'm only 22, but there is a huge gap in maturity between 18 and 22, and I can testify to that. Some of these kids are only 14 or 15 years old. That's awesomely crazy!

    Stevey, Candice, Tia, Evet, Lea

    Ainsley is not in this picture but Lea is, and I really don't need to talk more about her. lol 

    I have a lot of other pictures from GYC but I'll post those when time permits. I will post this picture though, because the shirt from GYC was awesome this year! 

    ptl gb pfy all, always